My Perception of China

image1Morr Njie

Growing up in the United States, China has always been a place of great mystery. You hear that the Chinese government enforce strict regulations that hinder people freedoms, people are impolite and rude, and that the nation as a whole is very grimy and infrastructure is outdated. That is not the case at all.

When I first arrived at the airport, I immediately felt comfortable due to the hospitality of the Chinese people. In China I meet with some of the most pleasant and righteous people that I have ever met in my life. Everywhere I went people wanted to take pictures and engage with me due to me being a foreigner; this doesn’t happen in other places of the world. While in China I realize that the Chinese culture is a very intimate and respectful one. Chinese people are willing to sacrifice their own comfort to make you comfortable that is not something that you see in the United States. Individuality is not that important as one may find in western countries.

What struck me about Beijing and even Sanya was how updated and good the infrastructure system is.  Beijing’s train system was better than any train system I have used in the world and that includes London and New York City. The highway system reminded me to the U.S. interstate system and its downtown, financial area can rival any area in the world in terms of elegance and beauty. Sanya’s entertainment district reminded me of an up and coming Miami, I can definitely see the city become a major tourist attraction in 10 to 20 years. The fact that China has been able to grow at this rate in 30 years and become home to an abundance of world class cities is pretty amazing. They have been able to “catch up” with the west without losing the sense of their culture and customs.  Chinese government and their people keep their city clean and spotless; not one time did I see people liter. Besides the air pollution problem the people of China have a very clean country.

 

China will always have a special place in my heart, and I do intend to go back as soon possible. It is place of elegance and happiness and I encourage people to go and experience China, because it is truly one of the gems of our worldimage1.JPG

Leave a Reply

